Opening Plenary

Opening Plenary

3 Oct 2018, 8:00 AM - 10:20 AM

Grand Plenary Hall
English (Australia)

Chair: Kane Thornton, CEO, CEC


8:00am: Opening remarks 

Robby Clark, Exhibition Director, All-Energy Australia and Kane Thornton, CEO, CEC

Welcome to the Country: Wurundjeri Elder Ron Jones


 8:10am: Victorian Minister’s Welcome

The Hon Lily D’Ambrosio MP, Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change, Government of Victoria


8:30am: Adam Bandt MP, Australian Greens Deputy Leader, Climate and Energy Spokesperson and Federal Member for Melbourne 


8:45am City of Melbourne's Welcome 

Deputy Lord Mayor Arron Wood, City of Melbourne


8:50am KeynoteDarren Miller, CEO, ARENA


9:20am Panel Discussion: Renewable Energy Developments and the Energy Industry – What policy framework and operational mechanisms are required to create greater certainty for the market 

Ludovic Theau, Chief Investment Officer, CEFC

Kent Draper, Vice President of Project Finance APAC, First Solar

Dr Kerry Schott AO,  Independent Chair, Energy Security Board

Paula Conboy, Chair, AER 

Matthew van der Linden, MD, Flow Power

Jennifer Purdie, CEO, Adani Renewables


  • Kane Thornton



    Clean Energy Council

    Kane Thornton is Chief Executive of the Clean Energy Council, the peak body for the renewable energy and energy storage industries in Australia. ...

  • The Hon Lily D’Ambrosio MP


    Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change

    Government of Victoria

    Liliana (Lily) D’Ambrosio is a member of the Australian Labor Party and has represented the electorate of Mill Park in the Victorian Legislative...

  • Darren Miller

    Key Note Speaker



    Darren Miller commenced as ARENA’s CEO on 27 August 2018. He has more than 25 years’ experience across a range of sectors including renewable energy,...

  • Ludovic Theau


    Chief Investment Officer

    Clean Energy Finance Corporation (CEFC)

    As joint Chief Origination and Transactions Officer, Mr Theau is responsible for the origination and execution of new investments for the CEFC. Mr...

  • Kent Draper


    Vice President of Project Finance APAC

    First Solar

    As Vice President of Project Finance and Asset Management (International), Kent is responsible for supporting business development activities...

  • Dr Kerry Schott AO


    Independent Chair

    Energy Security Board

    Kerry Schott is Chair of the Energy Security Board, Chair of Moorebank Intermodal Company, a Director of NBN, and a Director of TCorp NSW. She also...

  • Paula Conboy




    Paula Conboy was appointed as the full time state/territory member and Australian Energy Regulator Chair in October 21014.  Paula has extensive...

  • Matthew van der Linden


    Managing Director

    Flow Power

    Matthew van der Linden is the CEO of transformative energy retailer, Flow Power, and energy management practice, Utilacor. Matthew’s vision is to...

  • Jennifer Purdie



    Adani Renewables

    Dr. Jennifer Purdie joined Adani Renewables Australia as Chief Executive Officer in 2017, with the goal of building and leading a team to develop...

  • Arron Wood


    Deputy Lord Mayor

    City of Melbourne

    Councillor Arron Wood was elected in 2012 and 2016 as the Deputy Lord Mayor of Melbourne. Councillor Wood chairs the Finance and Governance...

  • Adam Bandt


    MP, Australian Greens Deputy Leader, Climate and Energy Spokesperson and Federal Member for Melbourne

    Adam Bandt is an Australian Greens Deputy Leader and the Federal Member for Melbourne. He was elected in 2010 when he made history by becoming the...

Opening Times
Wed 3 Oct Exhibition 9.00am – 5.00pm
Wed 3 Oct Networking Event 5.00pm - 6.30pm
Thur 4 Oct Exhibition 9.00am – 5.00pm

Registration opens 8.00am

We use cookies to operate this website and to improve its usability. Full details of what cookies are, why we use them and how you can manage them can be found by reading our Privacy & Cookies page. Please note that by using this site you are consenting to the use of cookies.